rorkesdriftvc.com Forum Index

rorkesdriftvc.com
Discussions related to the Anglo-Zulu War of 1879
Reply to topic
Music
rfh12002

Hi there
I was wondering if anyone knew anywhere were I can get my hands on the Zulu music from the film. I'm particularly looking for the one sung when the actors on the Brit side start singing 'Men of Harlech'.

I'd also love if any expert out there could verify it as a fairly true zulu song / dance or if it is a Hollywood special!

I'm a teacher and would love to use the power of that track at some point.,

Many thanks
Sheldon Hall

The indigenous music from the film has never been made available for purchase in any form, more's the pity. The songs and chants in the film are authentically Zulu, but not necessarily from the right period for the battle. See pp. 211-212 of my book ZULU: WITH SOME GUTS BEHIND IT for more detailed discusion and translations of some of the songs (though not, alas, of the 'dawn chorus' chant).

Sheldon
rfh12002

Thanks Sheldon
My school have just 'tinned' with a school with a mainly indigenous Zulu background and it would have been nice to do something with the music. The stuff in the film is great (not that I'd have started the link by going down the Zulu War route) but Men of Harlech kind of ruins it!
I will certainly check out that section in your book.
Many thanks
Alan
Site Admin

rfh12002

Is the DVD link from the Zulu film section the one you're looking for?

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/B00000IIS2/o/qid%3D988010996/sr%3D8-10/ref%3Daps%5Fsr%5Fpm%5F4%5F2/102-8015702-9480963

Alan
Sheldon Hall

The Silva Screen DVD is a recent re-recording of John Barry's score and contains no indigenous Zulu music. I don't much like the arrangements in this recording, which seem to me to get the tempo all wrong, and I groaned aloud when I heard the rendition of 'Men of Harlech', which reeks of the concert hall and has no dramatic authenticity whatsoever. But others might like it...

Sheldon
Mike McCabe