rorkesdriftvc.com Forum Index

rorkesdriftvc.com
Discussions related to the Anglo-Zulu War of 1879
Reply to topic
1879 Foriegn Service helmet Opinion.
Johnny_H

Hey I am sure a few of you have a "Pith" helmet or two, I was recently looking in the market for one ( just think it will make a nice show piece on a manakin head ). What are the best sources for this? I found a website with a really nice one but its from Australia and its $169.00 Aus. That is with the spike and Regimental crest.

what is the general opinion of this helmet?
http://www.villagehatshop.com/b2b-British-foreign-service_zulu-war.html

Would it be reccomended as a show piece? and would it be possible if I found a regimental crest repro to mount it? I have no idea and I'm totally new to this.

If you know of something better then this, please feel free to shoot a link my way in this thread. I think I would really like to have one of these helmets and perhaps down the road a Crest for it.

Sawubona

Hmm,
Seems kind of pricey for a repro even though it has real velcro. Send me a private message and we'll talk further.
looks nice
Tom516

but it's a pack of 12... unless of course you and some friends are going to shoot a Zulu War fan film? (I'm pretty sure they'll accept it at TheForce.Net. It's after all a fan film of, what else but ZULU!)

I think the Royal Regiment of Wales has a replica helmet plate

http://www.rrw.org.uk/shop/shop.php?action=view&prodid=74

but this is post Cardwell (around 1881) so its after the AZW period... in any case you'd want to get the tea-stained (khaki) variety if you're going to be 'campaigning in Africa'.

I'm hoping to find one of those myself. I saw some at the local Army-Navy a couple of years ago but it was really quite expensive ($50) so I had to pass (not being employed at the time)

I really regret passing on it!

Sawubona