rorkesdriftvc.com Forum Index

rorkesdriftvc.com
Discussions related to the Anglo-Zulu War of 1879
Reply to topic
The Boxer Henry rifle ?
garywilson

Does anyone know why , in Zulu , the rifle is refered to as a " Boxer Henry " and not a Martini - Henry ( by Chard in discussion with CS Bourne ).
Sheldon Hall

I'm no expert on firearms and others may want to correct me, but I believe the reference in Chard's line is to the ammunition used, not to the rifle itself.
garywilson

You could well be right , if i remember correctly the conversation is something like ; " its a miracle " - CS Bourne , " if its a miracle its a short chamber Boxer Henry .45 miracle " - you think that he refers to the ammunition not the rifle . Maybe someone knows if this type of ammunation was known by this name ?
Sheldon Hall

It's the kind of detail that John Prebble was wont to include in his scripts. He certainly researched the rifle, its bayonet and ammunition type, etc, while researching the battle.
garywilson

And a superb script it certainly was !
Sawubona