rorkesdriftvc.com Forum Index


rorkesdriftvc.com
Discussions related to the Anglo-Zulu War of 1879


Sat Jul 03, 2021 12:50 pm
7
1790
Colin,

Why do you feel the need for such extreme measures?

If the papers are available from the Royal Engineers Library there should be no necessity to resort to the course of action you suggest ...

Thu Apr 01, 2021 8:26 am
5
1700
Colin,

Feel free to, it might have been easier to pm or e-mail me.

JY

Fri Mar 12, 2021 8:16 am
3
2566
It is with heavy heart that I record the passing of His Majesty King Goodwill Zwelithini kaBhekuzulu.

His Majesty passed away this morning in hospital where he was being treated for Covid 19 compli ...

Mon Feb 01, 2021 11:01 am
7
2487
Colin,

I’ll pass on your request to the management.

JY

Sun Jan 24, 2021 6:23 pm
3
1700
Coll,

What do you think about the shape of the mountain in the background?

JY

Sat Jan 23, 2021 11:42 pm
3
1700
Coll,

What like this?

https://i.postimg.cc/k5GhT5Zm/0-FBDA894-6-E0-F-41-FD-9-B3-B-44-EF7-FA75781.jpg
1sr Battalion, 24th (2nd Warwickshire) Regiment, South Africa
(John Young Collection.)

J ...

Fri Jan 22, 2021 3:24 pm
7
2487
Colin,

Not to my knowledge, and as nice as it Firing Line is somewhat lacking in space - in my opinion - as it is.

John

Mon Dec 07, 2020 1:07 pm
4
2142
Coll,

Try contacting the R.E. Museum for their input.

JY

Mon Dec 07, 2020 10:19 am
4
2142
Coll,

Never heard of it attributed to any Royal Engineers Officer or Other-Rank in connection with the Zulu War.

Although Queen Victoria described an event as such - “The Defence of Rorke's drif ...

Sun Nov 29, 2020 3:46 pm
2
1748
John K.,

Originally published in The Graphic it depicts members of Major-General Marshall’s Cavalry Brigade returning from the battlefield of Isandlwana on 21st May 1879, with the serviceable wagon ...

Wed Oct 14, 2020 9:05 am
4
2417
The artwork depicting the Battle of Ulundi appears in Ian Castle’s British Infantryman in South Africa 1877 - 81. The illustrations in the book are the work of Christa Hook. The book was first publi ...

Thu Oct 01, 2020 1:06 pm
3
2384
James Grant’s edited account of Zulu War appeared in ‘British Battles on Land & Sea’, published in various editions over several years. It relies on contemporary articles and publications, it is ...

Sat Jul 11, 2020 11:53 am
42
20099
Colin,

Culloden is - in my opinion - an excellent battlefield to visit. The visitors centre offers the option to follow the English or Jacobite path to the battle. Something I would like to see i ...

Thu Jul 09, 2020 10:36 am
3
3295
Tragic news.

Rest in Peace Charles.

John

Tue Jul 07, 2020 6:29 pm
42
20099
Good evening Paul,

I will see if I can find it for you.

Best wishes,

JY
Page 1 of 62
All times are GMT